DUI CALIFORNIA DEFENSE LAWYERS
Driving under the influence of alcohol commonly referred to as DUI (driving while intoxicated, drunk driving, operating under the influence, drinking and driving, drink-driving, “‘impaired driving’”) or other drugs, is the act of operating a vehicle (including bicycle, boat, airplane, wheelchair, tractor or horse) after consuming alcohol or other drugs. It is a criminal offense in California.
Have you been charged with a DUI in California?
Are you facing a DUI charge in California?
How your case is handled may make all the difference in world as to how your life progresses from this potentially traumatic event. Don’t let someone who will not keep you informed as to the status of your case keep you in the dark. The relationship you have with your attorney during this very difficult period can have a substantial impact on your mental health. You need and deserve a lawyer who is looking out for you.
You want a lawyer who will take the time to sit down with you and explain the process and why a particular strategy is being used. You want a lawyer who will listen to you and keep your best interests at heart.
If you need help to defend yourself against a DUI charge in California, then contact the SRIS Law Group California DUI defense lawyers for help.
How can a SRIS Law Group lawyer help you?
First and foremost, we will discuss your case with you. We will explain to you the different options you have and the pros and cons of each option. We do not require clients to come in and sit down and talk with us. Certainly, our clients are welcome to come in and talk with us. However, we understand that clients are very busy and may not have the time to come to the office. Therefore, we allow clients to consult with us by phone first and let the clients decide whether they need to come in and meet with their attorney. To learn more about how a SRIS Law Group can help you, please call us at 888-437-7747 and speak with a lawyer the same day.
Our California DUI defense attorneys will do their best to help you.
- California Vehicle Code – Section 23152
(a)It is unlawful for any person who is under the influence of any alcoholic beverage or drug, or under the combined influence of any alcoholic beverage and drug, to drive a vehicle.
(b)It is unlawful for any person who has 0.08 percent or more, by weight, of alcohol in his or her blood to drive a vehicle.
For purposes of this article and Section 34501.16, percent, by weight, of alcohol in a person’s blood is based upon grams of alcohol per 100 milliliters of blood or grams of alcohol per 210 liters of breath.
In any prosecution under this subdivision, it is a rebuttable presumption that the person had 0.08 percent or more, by weight, of alcohol in his or her blood at the time of driving the vehicle if the person had 0.08 percent or more, by weight, of alcohol in his or her blood at the time of the performance of a chemical test within three hours after the driving.
(c)It is unlawful for any person who is addicted to the use of any drug to drive a vehicle. This subdivision shall not apply to a person who is participating in a narcotic treatment program approved pursuant to Article 3 (commencing with Section 11875) of Chapter 1 of Part 3 of Division 10.5 of the Health and Safety Code.
(d)It is unlawful for any person who has 0.04 percent or more, by weight, of alcohol in his or her blood to drive a commercial motor vehicle, as defined in Section 15210.
In any prosecution under this subdivision, it is a rebuttable presumption that the person had 0.04 percent or more, by weight, of alcohol in his or her blood at the time of driving the vehicle if the person had 0.04 percent or more, by weight, of alcohol in his or her blood at the time of the performance of a chemical test within three hours after the driving.
(e)This section shall become operative on January 1, 1992, and shall remain operative until the director determines that federal regulations adopted pursuant to the Commercial Motor Vehicle Safety Act of 1986 (49 U.S.C. Sec. 2701 et seq.) contained in Section 383.51 or 391.15 of Title 49 of the Code of Federal Regulations do not require the state to prohibit operation of commercial vehicles when the operator has a concentration of alcohol in his or her blood of 0.04 percent by weight or more.
(f)The director shall submit a notice of the determination under subdivision (e) to the Secretary of State, and this section shall be repealed upon the receipt of that notice by the Secretary of State.
- California Vehicle Code 23220
(a) No person shall drink any alcoholic beverage while driving a motor vehicle upon any highway or on any lands described in subdivision (b).
(b) As used in subdivision (a), “lands” means those lands to which the Chappie-Z’berg Off-Highway Motor Vehicle Law of 1971 (Division 16.5 (commencing with Section 38000)) applies as to off-highway motor vehicles, as described in Section 38001.
The SRIS Law Group lawyers assist clients in the following counties in California:
Los Angeles County, Orange County, San Diego County, Riverside County, San Bernardino County, Santa Clara County, Alameda County, Sacramento County, Contra Costa County, Fresno County, Ventura County, Kern County, San Francisco County, San Mateo County, San Joaquin County, Stanislaus County, Sonoma County, Tulare County, Solano County, Monterey County, Santa Barbara County, Placer County, San Luis Obispo County, Santa Cruz County, Marin County, Merced County, Butte County, Yolo County, Shasta County, El Dorado County, Imperial County, Madera County, Kings County, Napa County, Humboldt County, Nevada County, Sutter County, Mendocino County, Yuba County, Lake County, Tehama County, Tuolumne County, San Benito County.